NaPoWriMo 2013 #17:

Thursday red

These clouds are turning to rain,
the pavements are wet
and the flowers are drinking

The sky’s fireball is sinking
the world is stained, red and black
there is a rattling in my ear,
left by telephone calls
and crows on rooftops,
singing for love.

I don’t want to see anything die,
but if I have to,
first, I will count the ways it is beautiful.

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo2013, Verse. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaPoWriMo 2013 #17:

  1. I find that last stanza very striking in its simplicity! Also “there is a rattling in my ear,/left by telephone calls/and crows on rooftops,/singing for love” has such a neatly sewn connection between two strong images. In fact this whole poem does a cool thing in that it uses really bold simple easy-to-visualise images. I can imagine it in geometric shapes. My feedback starts to make little sense. I become sleep-deprived. I die in my living room from lack of sleep and am found two days later.

Leave a Reply

